INTERIEUR AWARDS These are the winners

Young talent and promising designers find their way to the Biennale through the Interieur Awards, allowing them to present their ideas to a large and professional audience.
The winning projects for this year are again a fine sample of what is going on in design at the moment, presenting a very diverse range of themes, materials and functionalities.

The jury has consisted of leading captains of industry, designers and design critics for many years. A mix of people who, in one way or another, play an important role in the contemporary design and architectural landscape. The jury this year consisted of Patrizia Moroso (IT), designers Sebastian Herkner (DE), Alain Gilles (BE) and Dimitri Bähler (CH), journalist Tom Morris (UK), and architects Glenn Sestig (BE) and Alex Mustonen of Snarkitecture (USA).



Café Gyproc - Julien Renault & Paul Vaugoyeau (Brussel, BE & Stockholm, SE) /


Geofood - Raams Studio (Valencia, ES)


Bar Open - Matyas Molnar, Maros Somora & Christian Vajda (Gent, BE)




Out of more than 100 submissions from 17 different countries, the jury chose not less than eighteen objects that will be shown at the Biennale INTERIEUR 2018. As proof of the very high quality of the entries, the shared first prize goes to the Belgian entry COIL, an ingenious and smart rack designed by Bram Kerkhofs and the French design agency SCMP DESIGN OFFICE for their Runway lamp.


COIL - Bram Kerkhofs (BE)

honourable mentions
PONTIUS - Sylvie Van De Walle (BE)

FLIP - Christian Hammer Juhl + Jade Chan (NL)


extra selected objects for the exhibition

A TRAVERSER - Bedrossian + Servaes (BE)
BRUT - Barh (BE)
CUMUL - Bina Baitel (FR)

FUR LIGHT - Bina Baitel (FR)
DIVERSITA - SCMP Design Office (FR)
HOOK - Jacopo Ferrari (IT)
MANARI - Gunther Pelgrims (BE)

PARADOSSO - Pierre-Emmanuel Vandeputte (BE)
THE MAT - Lisa Stolz (OOS)
URBAN SHAPES - Nortstudio (BE)
WAVE SERIES - Sohn Donghoon (KOR)

WOMPOO - Nikolai Kotlarcyk (DK)